Solutions Last updated:

How to Build a DeFi or Web3 Project: Licensing, Banking & Infrastructure

Jagelski & Partners scopes and routes the full infrastructure for a DeFi or Web3 project: DAO legal wrapper, operating entity, perimeter analysis under Markets in Crypto-Assets Regulation (Regulation (EU) 2023/1114) Recital 22, fiat on/off-ramp banking, and ongoing compliance. ESMA’s interim MiCA register of lists 357 crypto-asset service providers across the European Economic Area, including financial entities that notified under Article 60; the legacy-VASP transitional period ended . Our partner network supports DeFi and Web3 structures worldwide, matched to the project's activities and target markets. Operational readiness takes 1 to 18 months, depending on the route.

Not ready to submit a brief? Ask Emma first. She answers now and can collect your written brief for a specialist introduction.

Six principal jurisdictions: Cayman Islands (VASP Act 2020 and Foundation Companies Act), UAE (VARA and ADGM DLT Foundation), Panama (Private Interest Foundation), Saint Kitts and Nevis, Cyprus, and Czech Republic (MiCA CASP).
Fiat on/off-ramp banking pre-qualified across the partner network before the entity files for authorisation. Through the partner network, businesses placed more than fourteen billion euros in client turnover across banking and EMI relationships in 2025.
End-to-end scoping: Recital 22 perimeter analysis, DAO legal wrapper selection, smart-contract audit routing, fiat banking arrangement, and ongoing CASP compliance.

What You Need to Build a DeFi or Web3 Project

A DeFi or Web3 project needs five interlocking components: a legal wrapper for the protocol or DAO, an operating entity for off-chain activities, a regulatory perimeter analysis under MiCA Recital 22 (and equivalent rules outside the EU), fiat on/off-ramp banking for treasury and operations, and an ongoing compliance stack covering smart-contract audits, sanctions screening, and DORA controls. The components are sequenced, not parallel.

In short: the most common failure pattern is treating the legal wrapper as a tax-optimisation choice and the regulatory perimeter as a Phase 2 question. Smart contracts ship, fee accrual begins, control settles in a multisig, a foundation, or a front-end operator, and the founders discover that what was framed as a “fully decentralised” protocol has an identifiable operator whose services to EU and EEA users may need CASP authorisation. Jagelski & Partners scopes the perimeter before the contracts are deployed, when the architectural choices that determine MiCA scope are still cheap to make.

First comes the legal wrapper for the protocol. DeFi protocols of meaningful scale operate behind a foundation: most commonly a Cayman Foundation Company under the Foundation Companies Act (2017, as revised), an ADGM DLT Foundation under the Distributed Ledger Technology Foundations Regulations 2023, or a Panama Private Interest Foundation under Law 25 of . The wrapper holds the protocol treasury, contracts with developers and service providers, and provides a counterparty for grant programmes, exchanges, and counterparties.

Without a legal entity, the individuals who contract or act for a protocol may bear personal liability. Securities, tax, and anti-money-laundering obligations depend on the activities, structure, and applicable law.[1]

Second comes the operating entity for off-chain activities. Rarely does the wrapper employ developers, run the website, sign SaaS contracts, or hold the fiat float. Those activities run through an operating entity, typically a service-provider company that contracts with the foundation. The operating entity is what the European regulator looks at when asking whether a CASP authorisation is required: it has identifiable management, marketing activity, fee accrual, and counterparty relationships that make it visible to the regulator.

Third comes the regulatory perimeter under MiCA Recital 22. The Joint EBA-ESMA Report under Article 142 of MiCA (ESMA75-453128700-1391 / EBA/Rep/2025/01, published ) notes that MiCA does not specify how to interpret references to “fully decentralised”, so whether the exemption applies turns on the facts of each protocol.[2] The factors that can bring a service back inside MiCA include an identifiable front-end operator, admin or upgrade keys, fee accrual to a treasury controlled by a named party, active EU marketing, and governance-token concentration.

Partial decentralisation is not a safe harbour. Recital 22 explicitly states that MiCA applies “when part of such activities or services is performed in a decentralised manner.”

Fourth comes fiat on/off-ramp banking. Pure on-chain projects still need fiat for payroll, vendor payments, and the on/off-ramp itself. Banks routinely reject DeFi-adjacent counterparties: counterparty anonymity at the protocol layer, smart-contract operational risk, token-treasury volatility, and Travel Rule obligations under the Transfer of Funds Regulation (Regulation (EU) 2023/1113, applicable since ) all push primary clearing banks toward refusal.

Under the TFR, originator and beneficiary information must accompany every CASP-to-CASP crypto transfer with no de minimis threshold; for transfers to or from self-hosted wallets above €1,000, the CASP must additionally assess whether the wallet is owned or controlled by its customer.[3] The practical pathway combines an EU-licensed EMI for euro flows, a DLT-friendly bank in a digital-asset-aware jurisdiction for token-treasury custody, and a regulated trust company for stablecoin and bitcoin holdings.

Fifth comes ongoing compliance: smart-contract audits and continuous bug bounty, sanctions screening at the front-end and at the fiat on/off-ramp, transaction monitoring for any CASP-classified surface, DORA controls for ICT third-party risk under Regulation (EU) 2022/2554 (applicable since ), and Travel Rule compliance for any CASP-to-CASP transfer.[4]

Infrastructure Checklist

ComponentWhat It InvolvesTypical Timeline
Legal wrapper (Foundation)Holds protocol treasury, contracts with developers, provides legal counterparty for grants and exchanges4 to 8 weeks
Operating entityEmploys developers, runs the front-end, contracts with vendors, holds the fiat float1 to 4 weeks
Perimeter analysisDetermines whether MiCA, VARA, or other licensing applies; documents the Recital 22 position in writing2 to 6 weeks (parallel to wrapper formation)
Fiat banking arrangementSEPA and USD operating accounts, token-treasury custody, on/off-ramp2 to 6 months
Smart-contract audit and bug bountyPre-launch security review; competitive audit; continuous bounty4 to 12 weeks initial, then continuous
Compliance stackKYC for the fiat on/off-ramp, sanctions screening, transaction monitoring, DORA, Travel Rule4 to 8 weeks initial, then continuous

Most of this runs in sequence. Before banking can be arranged, before audits can be contracted, and before any compliance vendor can be onboarded, the legal wrapper and operating entity must exist. Perimeter analysis must precede smart-contract deployment, because architectural choices (admin keys, fee accrual mechanics, upgradability) determine whether MiCA applies. Fiat banking is the longest-pole item in most builds: pre-qualification through the partner network typically begins in parallel with the wrapper formation, not after it.

Choosing the Right Jurisdiction

Jurisdiction choice determines the available legal wrapper, the regulatory perimeter, the tax treatment of the protocol treasury, the fiat banking options, and the credibility signal to exchanges, custodians, and institutional counterparties. For DeFi and Web3 projects the choice is between offshore foundation jurisdictions (Cayman, UAE ADGM, Panama, Saint Kitts and Nevis), and EU MiCA jurisdictions (Cyprus, Czech Republic), each suited to a different protocol profile.

Jurisdiction Comparison

FactorCayman IslandsUAE (VARA + ADGM)PanamaSaint Kitts & NevisCyprusCzech Republic
Primary licence / wrapperVASP Act 2020 registration or Phase 2 licence; Foundation Company for DAO wrapperVARA VASP licence (8 categories); ADGM DLT Foundation for DAO wrapperPrivate Interest Foundation (Law 25 of 1995); no VASP regime in forceVASP Registration under the Virtual Asset Act, Cap. 21.29; Nevis Business Corporation or LLC as the wrapperMiCA CASP authorisation under CySECMiCA CASP authorisation under ČNB
Capital / prudential safeguardsNone statutory (business-plan adequacy)VARA: AED 100k to 1.5m+ by activity≈ $27K–410K+; ADGM DLT Foundation: USD 50k initial asset value (Section 19)USD 10,000 endowmentNo numerical floor; SR&O 13 of 2026 capital-adequacy duty (FSRC may require more); 15% client-fund escrow (Act s.9A)Annex IV class floors: €50k / €125k / €150k (Article 67 MiCA)Annex IV class floors: €50k / €125k / €150k (Article 67 MiCA)
Application / state feeYear-1 statutory: USD 4,878 to 37,806 (registration); USD 79,268 to 189,024 (custody licence); USD 189,025 to 371,951 (VATP licence)AED 40k to 100k + 50% per additional activity≈ $11K–27KUSD 400 government (foundation tasa única) + Resident AgentEC$54,000 application + EC$135,000 first-year registration≈ $20K + $50K€5,000–€30,000 per service, cumulativeApprox. CZK 20,000≈ $930
Realistic timelineAbout 4 to 8 months (registration); about 7 to 14 months (Phase 2 licence)6 to 12 months (two-stage VARA process)2 to 4 weeks (Foundation only)4 to 9 months8 to 14 months9 to 18 months
EU passportingNoNoNoNoYesYes
Corporate tax0%9% above AED 375k profit≈ $100K; QFZP: 0% on qualifying income, 9% on other taxable incomeTerritorial: 0% on foreign-source income25% standard; non-resident treatment fact-dependent, no automatic 0%15% (raised from 12.5% effective ); Article 20E applies 8% to qualifying non-mining crypto-asset disposal profits21%
Local presenceRegistered office; CIMA-acceptable directors; Foundation Secretary requiredVARA: physical office in Dubai, on the mainland or in a free zone other than DIFC; UAE-resident senior officersResident Agent (Panamanian lawyer); no employee requirementNevis entity plus Nevis-licensed registered agent; no resident-director requirementCyprus office; at least one EU-resident director (CySEC expects a Cyprus-resident majority in practice); MLROCzech office; at least one EU-resident director; MLRO
Banking accessDifficultModerateModerate to DifficultDifficultModerateModerate

For MiCA CASPs, the amounts shown are Annex IV class floors. Prudential safeguards must equal at least the higher of the applicable Annex IV class floor and 25% of the previous year’s fixed overheads. A new firm uses projected fixed overheads for its first 12 months; the permitted deductions apply. Qualifying own funds, an insurance policy or comparable guarantee, or a combination may meet the requirement. MiCA Article 67(1)–(4).

Choose the Cayman Islands if the project is a protocol with a treasury holding governance tokens or stablecoins, expects to be cited by name on third-party platforms, and wants the deepest pool of crypto-fluent professional service providers. The Cayman Foundation Company is a widely used DAO wrapper, because it can become an “orphan” entity with no shareholders, supervised by individuals or service providers (not members), and used by major DeFi protocols including those of the Aave and Compound generations.[5]

Where the protocol’s front-end is custodial or operates a trading platform, the VASP Act 2020 Phase 2 licensing regime applies.

Cayman is the default for protocols planning institutional integrations; it is not the right base for projects seeking active EU retail distribution. See the full crypto licensing hub.

Choose the United Arab Emirates if the project wants a credible regulated home with onshore market access, MENA institutional flow, and the ability to issue tokens or run a custodial front-end under a recognised framework. Three relevant building blocks are available in the UAE:

  • VARA licensing: an eight-category model covers advisory, broker-dealer, custody, exchange, lending, management, transfer, and VA issuance, with application fees from AED 40,000 to AED 100,000 per activity and annual supervision fees of AED 80,000 to AED 200,000 per activity.[6]
  • ADGM DLT Foundations: the 2023 Regulations set up a foundation regime purpose-built for DLT use and DAO governance, requiring minimum initial asset value of USD 50,000 payable in fiat (Section 19), a council of two to sixteen members, and a written charter governing token issuance and treasury rules.[7]
  • Tax and enforcement: UAE corporate income tax is 9% above AED 375,000 of taxable profit for ordinary taxable persons; a Qualifying Free Zone Person pays 0% on qualifying income and 9% on other taxable income. VARA enforcement has intensified: on , VARA penalised 19 firms for unlicensed virtual-asset activity, with fines ranging from AED 100,000 to AED 600,000.[8]

See the crypto licensing hub.

Choose Panama if the project wants a low-cost, low-friction wrapper for the protocol treasury, territorial tax treatment, and no Phase 2 licensing overlay. Among the lowest-friction DAO wrappers globally is the Panama Private Interest Foundation under Law 25 of 1995: USD 10,000 endowment minimum, USD 400 annual government fee (tasa única),[13] Foundation Council consisting of one legal person or at least three individual members, and full asset separation from the founder under Article 11.[9]

Panama was removed from the FATF grey list on ; its removal from the EU AML high-risk list followed with the Commission’s update to the high-risk-third-countries list (Delegated Regulation (EU) 2025/1184, in force ).[10] Panama remains on Annex I of the EU list of non-cooperative jurisdictions for tax purposes after the Council’s revision of .[25] Panama is appropriate for treasury and holding structures, not for protocols that need a regulated licence on the front-end.

Choose Cyprus if the project plans an EU front-end with active marketing into EEA users, intends to operate as a regulated CASP, and wants a Pillar Two-aligned 15% corporate income tax base with deep professional-services infrastructure. CySEC’s CASP authorisation under MiCA carries the standard tiered capital requirements set by Article 67 and Annex IV: €50,000 for Class 1 (advisory, reception, and transmission, order execution, placing, transfer services, portfolio management), €125,000 for Class 2 (custody and administration of crypto-assets, and exchange of crypto-assets for funds and for other crypto-assets), and €150,000 for Class 3 (operation of a trading platform). Where an authorisation spans multiple classes, the highest applicable threshold applies; Article 67(1) further requires CASPs to hold at all times the higher of the statutory minimum and one quarter of the preceding year’s fixed overheads.[12][26]

Where the safeguards are met through own funds, those funds must qualify under MiCA Article 67(4)(a); a treasury position in BTC or stablecoins does not satisfy the regulatory minimum. CySEC set a deadline for legacy CASPs to file MiCA applications, and the EU-wide transitional period ended . See the full Cyprus crypto licensing guide.

Choose the Czech Republic if the project wants an EU MiCA CASP authorisation from a regulator that is already granting them. Under MiCA and Act No. 31/2025 Coll., the Czech National Bank (ČNB) authorises and supervises CASPs; AML/CFT compliance is supervised by the Financial Analytical Office and the ČNB. The Czech Republic offers a 21% corporate tax rate and EU passporting under a single CASP authorisation. Its review is selective: the ČNB granted 11 authorisations from 251 applications and notifications assessed by 1 July 2026, describing a significant share of the filings as wholly insufficient in content.[20] See the crypto licensing hub.

Recital 22 enforcement risk. As of , no DeFi protocol has formally tested the “fully decentralised” exemption against an EU regulator’s enforcement file. The Joint EBA-ESMA Report of January 2025 notes that MiCA does not define “fully decentralised”, and Recital 22 keeps MiCA applicable where only part of a service is performed in a decentralised manner.[2] Founders relying on Recital 22 should document the position contemporaneously with smart-contract deployment, including governance-token distribution, admin-key controls, fee-accrual mechanics, and front-end ownership. A protocol whose control, fee flows, or front-end change without an updated position paper risks a national competent authority concluding, after the fact, that an identifiable operator has been providing crypto-asset services in its Member State without authorisation.

Setting Up Your Company

Company formation is the first operational step for a DeFi or Web3 project, because the foundation wrapper, the operating entity, the fiat banking application, and the smart-contract audit engagement all require a registered legal person. Most commonly, the formation mistake is to incorporate the operating entity in the wrong jurisdiction (typically a US LLC or a UK Ltd held personally by the founders), then restructure once it becomes clear the entity cannot host the protocol treasury or contract with regulated counterparties. The cost is 2 to 4 months and €40,000 to €100,000 in restructuring fees.

In short: the wrapper jurisdiction and the operating-entity jurisdiction do not have to match. A Cayman Foundation Company can hold the protocol treasury while a Czech Republic CASP operates the front-end. The two entities are linked by a service agreement that defines what the operating entity does on behalf of the foundation, and what the foundation pays the operating entity. The first conversation with company formation sets that architecture; restructuring it later is the expensive option.

Formation by Jurisdiction

JurisdictionEntity TypeFormation CostTimelineCapital / prudential safeguards
Cayman IslandsFoundation Company; Exempted Company for operating entityUSD 15,000 to USD 35,000 (Foundation); KYD 700 registry fee (about USD 854 at the Registry’s 0.82 payment rate, for authorised capital up to KYD 42,000) and the first annual fee the following January (KYD 1,025 from 2027), plus the licensed manager, quoted (Exempted Company)Foundation: 4 to 8 weeks; Exempted Company: 2 to 4 weeksNone statutory
United Arab EmiratesADGM DLT Foundation; ADGM private company limited by shares; or DIFC LLC for operating entityUSD 25,000 to USD 60,000 (DLT Foundation, incl. CSP retainer); USD 12,000 to USD 25,000 (LLC)DLT Foundation: 8 to 14 weeks; LLC: 4 to 8 weeksUSD 50,000 initial asset value (DLT Foundation, Section 19)
PanamaPrivate Interest Foundation (Law 25 of 1995); Sociedad Anónima for operating entityUSD 2,500 to USD 5,000 (Foundation) plus at least USD 650 a year (USD 400 annual fee and the USD 250 resident-agent minimum); USD 1,500 to USD 3,000 (SA) plus at least USD 550 a year (USD 300 tasa única and the USD 250 resident-agent minimum)2 to 4 weeksUSD 10,000 endowment (Foundation)
Saint Kitts & NevisNevis Business Corporation (BC) or International Business Company (IBC); for VASP applications, a locally-domiciled entityUSD 320 official fees (Nevis BC) plus the licensed registered agent, quoted1 to 2 weeksNone statutory
CyprusPrivate limited companyEUR 325 to 775 indicative5 to 10 working daysNo statutory minimum; MiCA Annex IV class floors €50k to €150k
Czech RepublicSpolečnost s ručením omezeným (s.r.o.)EUR 340 statutory, before VAT1 to 2 weeks (notary route)CZK 1 share capital; MiCA Annex IV class floors €50k to €150k

For MiCA CASPs, the amounts shown are Annex IV class floors. Prudential safeguards must equal at least the higher of the applicable Annex IV class floor and 25% of the previous year’s fixed overheads. A new firm uses projected fixed overheads for its first 12 months; the permitted deductions apply. Qualifying own funds, an insurance policy or comparable guarantee, or a combination may meet the requirement. MiCA Article 67(1)–(4).

For most protocols of meaningful scale, the two-entity structure (foundation plus operating entity) is the working architecture. The foundation holds the treasury and the protocol-level intellectual property; the operating entity employs developers, runs the website and front-end, and contracts with third parties. When assessing whether the protocol is “fully decentralised” or whether the operating entity is a CASP, the regulator opens an information request on the service agreement between the two. Drafting that agreement is a regulatory exercise, not a corporate one.

What MiCA does not assess at the protocol layer it assesses at the operating-entity layer: the foundation’s legal-form choice (Cayman Foundation Company, ADGM DLT Foundation, Panama Private Interest Foundation) does not, by itself, resolve the CASP-of-record question, which turns on which entity controls the upgrade keys, accrues the protocol fees, and operates the front-end accessible to EEA users.

Licensing Requirements

A DeFi or Web3 project needs one of three positions, supported by contemporaneous documentation: a “fully decentralised” position under MiCA Recital 22 with no licensing requirement; a CASP authorisation under MiCA in the EU; or a VARA, CIMA, or other equivalent licence outside the EU. Under Article 67 + Annex IV, the MiCA CASP capital floor is €50,000 for Class 1 (advisory, reception, and transmission, order execution, placing, transfer services, portfolio management), €125,000 for Class 2 (custody and administration, and exchange of crypto-assets for funds and for other crypto-assets), and €150,000 for Class 3 (operation of a trading platform).[12]

MiCA scope and the Recital 22 carve-out

Recital 22 of Markets in Crypto-Assets Regulation (Regulation (EU) 2023/1114) states that “where crypto-asset services are provided in a fully decentralised manner without any intermediary, they should not fall within the scope of this Regulation.” Two operative points govern its application. First, Recital 22 is non-binding as a preamble; the operative articles contain no definition of “fully decentralised.” Second, with no statutory test, the exemption turns on the facts of each case rather than a bright-line rule: the Joint EBA-ESMA Report under Article 142 MiCAR notes that MiCA does not specify how to interpret references to “fully decentralised”.[2]

On our reading, seven indicators of residual centralisation weigh towards MiCA scope; the Joint EBA-ESMA Report of points to several of them, such as administrator keys, fee flows to an address a central party controls, and concentrated governance-token holdings:[2]

  • Existence of admin or upgrade keys.
  • Fee accrual to a treasury controlled by a named party.
  • An identifiable front-end or UI operator.
  • Active EU marketing.
  • Governance-token concentration in a small number of wallets.
  • Treasury management by an identifiable foundation.
  • Bridge or oracle dependencies that introduce intermediaries.

Partial decentralisation is not a safe harbour: Recital 22 itself states that MiCA applies “when part of such activities or services is performed in a decentralised manner.” Treating Recital 22 as a binary qualifier rather than an evidentiary file is the common mistake. An upgradable multisig, a foundation-controlled treasury, and a named front-end operator call for case-specific analysis even where the smart contracts themselves are non-custodial. The Joint EBA-ESMA Report sets no decentralisation test and says its terminology is not a view on the level of decentralisation for Recital 22.[2] The question is whether an identifiable person or undertaking provides a crypto-asset service within MiCA, and that can be the front-end operator, whatever the governance of the protocol layer.

CASP triggers for front-ends and DAOs

CASP activities most likely to apply to a DeFi or Web3 front-end are operation of a trading platform for crypto-assets (where the front-end matches third-party orders), exchange of crypto-assets for funds or for other crypto-assets (where the operator facilitates swaps), custody and administration of crypto-assets (where the front-end controls smart-contract vaults), and transfer services (relevant to bridge front-ends).

A non-custodial smart contract that the operator cannot upgrade is the strongest defence against CASP scope; an upgradable contract controlled by a multisig with named signers does not by itself make the operator a CASP, but it identifies who controls the protocol and makes it harder to show that the service runs without any intermediary.

Token issuance under MiCA Title II

For in-scope crypto-assets that are neither asset-referenced tokens (Title III) nor e-money tokens (Title IV), MiCA Title II governs offers to the public and admission to trading in the EU, subject to its exemptions. Where a white paper is required, the offeror or person seeking admission to trading draws it up under Annex I and notifies it to the competent authority of its home Member State at least 20 working days before publication (Article 8); marketing communications must be consistent with the white paper (Article 7), and the offeror or person seeking admission must act honestly, fairly, and professionally (Article 14).

On the iXBRL machine-readable formatting requirement entered into application, with the ESMA XBRL taxonomy published on .[14] Most DeFi governance tokens sit in this Title II category, so the Title II rules above apply when such a token is offered to the public or admitted to trading, unless an exemption applies.

Non-EU licensing pathways

VARA (Dubai): eight activity-specific licences under the Virtual Assets and Related Activities Regulations 2023, supported by 2024 to 2025 Rulebooks. Application fees are AED 40,000 for Advisory and VA Transfer and Settlement Services, and AED 100,000 for Broker-Dealer, Category 1 VA Issuance, Custody, Exchange, Lending and Borrowing, and VA Management and Investment Services.

Annual supervision fees per activity are AED 80,000 for Advisory and VA Transfer and Settlement Services, and AED 200,000 for Broker-Dealer, Category 1 VA Issuance, Custody, Exchange, Lending and Borrowing, and VA Management and Investment Services, payable per activity per year in advance. Multi-activity applications attract a Licence Extension Fee of 50% of the lower of the two application fees. The licensing process is two-stage: an Initial Disclosure Questionnaire leading to an Approval to Incorporate, followed by the full VASP application leading to a licence. Typical end-to-end timeline is 6 to 12 months.[6]

Cayman Islands VASP Act 2020: Phase 1 registration applies to AML and cybersecurity for any virtual asset service provided to the public. Phase 2 licensing for trading platforms and custodians commenced on . Following the February to April 2024 Ministry of Financial Services consultation, the Virtual Asset (Service Providers) (Amendment) Act 2024 broadened the “Owner/Operator” definition to capture trading platforms and DAOs without an identifiable managing group.[15]

Private sales (per the Virtual Asset (Service Providers) Regulations 2020, “not advertised and made available to a limited number of persons or entities”) fall outside the Act, as do gratuitous airdrops. No statutory capital floor: adequacy is assessed against the business plan.

ADGM DLT Foundations Regulations 2023: the wrapper-only regime. Minimum initial asset value USD 50,000 payable in fiat (Section 19), paid up within six months of incorporation; Foundation Council of at least 2 and at most 16 councillors; mandatory Charter setting out objects, token-issuance rules, and asset rules; optional Guardian role overseeing Council compliance with the Charter; annual audited accounts published on the foundation’s website; periodic security audits of data-protection and IT systems shared with the Registrar; Company Service Provider engagement mandatory unless granted “exempt foundation” status.[7]

Saint Kitts and Nevis Virtual Asset Act 2020, Cap. 21.29 (as amended through the Virtual Asset (Amendment) Act No. 8 of 2026, assented ): VASP registration with the Financial Services Regulatory Commission (federation regulator, administered through its St. Kitts Branch). The 2024 amendment brought controlling shareholders within the significant-shareholder fit-and-proper test,[11] and the 2026 amendment added a mandatory independent AML/CFT/CPF audit (section 9(11)).[23] The operative subsidiary legislation is now the Virtual Asset Business Regulations, SR&O 13 of 2026, which repealed SRO 25 of 2022 and requires a decision within 90 days of a complete application.[24]

Saint Lucia Virtual Asset Business Act, No. 24 of 2022: assented ; commenced . On the FSRA issued its General Circular on VASPs, confirming that the FSRA is the supervisory authority.[18] The FSRA stated on that it had not commenced issuing licences under the Act, so no entity is licensed yet.[21] The Act requires a licensee to place in escrow assets equivalent to a minimum of 15% of the total value of client funds held (section 12(1)).

Schedule 2 of SI No. 37 of 2025 prescribes a non-refundable application fee of EC$1,000 and a flat licence fee of EC$15,000 covering all activity scopes, payable again on annual renewal.

DORA application to MiCA CASPs

From , the Digital Operational Resilience Act (Regulation (EU) 2022/2554) applies to MiCA CASPs. Obligations include:

  • a comprehensive ICT risk management framework;
  • classification and reporting of major ICT incidents within hours;
  • resilience testing including threat-led penetration testing every three years for significant entities;
  • an ICT third-party risk register (first submission 30 April 2025);
  • contracts with ICT providers including audit rights, exit strategies, and subcontracting controls (Commission Delegated Regulation (EU) 2025/532 on subcontracting of ICT services supporting critical or important functions, in force ).

On , the European Supervisory Authorities designated 19 critical ICT third-party providers, including AWS, Microsoft Azure, Google Cloud, Oracle, SAP, and Deutsche Telekom.[4] DORA itself sets no penalty amount for financial entities: under Article 50(3), Member States lay down the administrative penalties and remedial measures for breaches.

Critical ICT third-party providers face periodic penalty payments of up to 1% of average daily worldwide turnover in the preceding business year, imposed daily for no more than six months, under Article 35(6)–(8).[4]

The eighth update to the Directive on Administrative Cooperation, Directive (EU) 2023/2226 (DAC8), has applied since .[19] DAC8 imposes automatic exchange of crypto-asset transaction data on reporting crypto-asset service providers (RCASPs) that provide services to EU-resident users, irrespective of where the RCASP is established.

A non-EU operator with EU customers is captured; full decentralisation under MiCA Recital 22 does not by itself displace DAC8 reach where an identifiable operator, front-end, or treasury counterparty exists. The first reporting period is calendar year 2026. DAC8 leaves the deadline for filing with the competent authority of the RCASP’s nexus Member State to that State’s transposing law; competent authorities must then exchange the information within nine months after the end of the calendar year (Article 8ad(6)).

Penalty exposure is set by each Member State: Article 25a of Directive 2011/16/EU, as replaced by DAC8, requires effective, proportionate and dissuasive penalties but sets no amount or band, so the level and any daily continuance fine depend on the nexus Member State’s transposing law.

See the full Cyprus CASP authorisation guide and the crypto licensing hub.

Banking

Fiat banking is the single most underestimated component of a DeFi or Web3 build. Primary clearing banks routinely reject DeFi-adjacent counterparties, and the rejection rates do not fall meaningfully even when the project has a foundation wrapper, a published audit, and a clear regulatory position. As of , fiat on/off-ramp banking is in practice a multi-institution exercise: an EU-licensed EMI for operational euro flows, a DLT-friendly bank in a digital-asset-aware jurisdiction for token-treasury custody, and where applicable a regulated US trust company for stablecoin and bitcoin holdings.

Most banks decline DeFi mandates for five reasons:

  • Counterparty anonymity: DeFi end-users are typically unidentifiable to the protocol, so the bank cannot perform meaningful Source-of-Wealth or Source-of-Funds analysis on the protocol’s effective customers.
  • Smart-contract operational risk: an exploit creates liability exposure for any bank funding operations or holding treasury.
  • Token-treasury volatility: protocol treasuries denominated in native governance tokens can swing 70% within a quarter, complicating creditworthiness.
  • Travel Rule exposure: Regulation (EU) 2023/1113, applicable since , makes banks accountable for the originator and beneficiary information their CASP-classified counterparties send and receive.[3]
  • DORA third-party risk: banks treat any DeFi-adjacent counterparty integrating via APIs as an ICT-risk node.

In practice, the foundation wrapper alone does not unlock banking; what the credit committee underwrites is the operating entity’s ability to evidence its KYC posture toward the front-end users, the upgrade-key custody arrangements over the smart contracts, and the oracle and bridge dependencies that route value through identifiable intermediaries, because those are the points where the bank inherits residual AML and operational liability.

Accepting institutions divide, in practice, into four archetypes. First is an EU-licensed Electronic Money Institution with a documented digital-asset onboarding policy, used for SEPA in/out, payroll, and vendor payments; typically a tier-two EMI in a digital-asset-aware jurisdiction with a crypto-fluent compliance team. Second is a licensed bank offering digital-asset services, for example in Liechtenstein, used for DAO treasury custody and stablecoin operational balances. Registration as a TT service provider under Liechtenstein’s TVTG is not a banking licence; Switzerland’s DLT trading-facility licence is a separate permission.

Third is a regulated US trust company operating under New York or Wyoming supervision, used for institutional bitcoin and stablecoin holdings with monthly attestation. Fourth is a UAE onshore commercial bank with a non-objection to hold accounts for a VARA-licensed VASP.

In short: Jagelski & Partners pre-qualifies fiat banking across the partner network before the entity files for authorisation, because authorities reviewing a CASP application commonly ask for evidence of the applicant’s banking arrangements. Through Jagelski & Partners’ partner network, businesses placed more than fourteen billion euros in client turnover across banking and EMI relationships in 2025. Pre-qualification runs across 90+ banking and payment institutions. See the full banking overview and the crypto and fiat settlement guide covering on/off-ramp architecture.

Ongoing Compliance

Compliance is a permanent operating expense, not a one-time licensing cost. For a Class 3 MiCA CASP-classified DeFi front-end, the annual run-rate is typically €500,000 to €1.2 million, plus prudential safeguards equal to the higher of €150,000 and one quarter of prior-year fixed overheads; for a registration-only Cayman or Saint Kitts and Nevis VASP, the annual run-rate is closer to USD 150,000 to USD 400,000.

Five permanent obligations attach to any CASP-classified surface: anti-money-laundering controls and Travel Rule compliance under the Transfer of Funds Regulation; transaction monitoring and sanctions screening at the front-end (with vendor pricing from approximately USD 25,000 to USD 80,000 per annum); DORA controls including the ICT third-party risk register, incident classification, and reporting, and threat-led penetration testing for significant entities; smart-contract audit cadence (initial pre-launch audit plus every material upgrade plus competitive audit plus continuous bug bounty); and external audit of the financial statements and ICT controls.

Smart-contract audit cost ranges as of 2025 to 2026 break down by complexity:

  • Simple module: an ERC-20 or staking contract costs USD 8,000 to USD 50,000.
  • Moderate DeFi primitive: lending, AMM or governance protocols cost USD 50,000 to USD 150,000.
  • Complex protocol: a new L1/L2 chain costs USD 150,000 to USD 600,000 or more for formal verification.

Top-tier engineer rates are approximately USD 25,000 per engineer-week at Trail of Bits and OpenZeppelin (Arbitrum Research and Development Committee proposals, 2024 to 2025), with retainer-model engagements common at protocols with treasury size above USD 100 million.[16] Industry best practice for protocols with TVL above USD 100 million is two independent audits, a competitive contest on a platform such as Code4rena or Sherlock, and a continuous bug bounty on Immunefi (which had paid USD 100.21 million across more than 3,000 bug-bounty reports as of September 2024, with 77.5% going to smart-contract vulnerabilities; the single largest payout was USD 10 million for a Wormhole cross-chain bridge vulnerability).[17]

What constrains the build is not the pre-launch audit budget, which is finite, but the obligation to re-audit on every material upgrade plus the continuous bug-bounty programme; protocols that treat the first audit as a one-time spend rather than as the opening cost of a permanent security operating line typically discover the gap at the point of an upgrade-driven incident, where remediation typically costs far more than the recurring audit cadence they declined to fund.

Two MiCA transitional deadlines have now passed: the MiCA legacy-VASP transitional period ended , and CySEC’s filing deadline for legacy CASPs was . Looking ahead, the European Commission had not published its report under MiCA Article 142, due by 30 December 2024, when checked on ; that report must assess decentralised finance and may lead to dedicated DeFi legislation.

Realistic Timeline and Costs

End-to-end timeline from initial scoping to operational front-end is typically 1 to 9 months for an offshore wrapper or registration build, depending on whether the structure is a Panama foundation or a Cayman or Saint Kitts and Nevis registration, and 8 to 18 months for an EU MiCA CASP build. Technology development (smart-contract audits, front-end, infrastructure) runs in parallel with the licensing file; banking onboarding is the critical-path item in most schedules.

Cost Breakdown by Phase

PhaseTimelineNotesCost Range
Wrapper & Operating Entity Setup4 to 12 weeksCayman Foundation + Exempted Company: USD 21k to 45k; ADGM DLT Foundation + LLC: USD 37k to 85k; Panama Foundation + SA: USD 4k to 8k; Cyprus or Czech s.r.o. + holding structure: EUR 10k to 20kUSD 4,000 to USD 85,000 offshore, EUR 10,000 to EUR 20,000 in the EU
Licensing & Perimeter AnalysisRegistration or licensing: 4 to 14 months; perimeter-only review scoped separatelyRecital 22 position paper: EUR 15k to 35k; VASP registration (Cayman, SKN): USD 25k to 75k; MiCA CASP file (Cyprus, Czech): EUR 80k to 250k, including own funds held for the MiCA prudential safeguards. Panama's foundation setup is covered in the preceding phase; any perimeter review is scoped separately, without a VASP registration fee or regulatory timetable.Registration or licensing: EUR 25,000 to EUR 250,000; perimeter-only review scoped separately
Fiat Banking & Treasury2 to 6 monthsAccount opening fees, KYC documentation, multi-institution pre-qualification; substantial founder time investment not reflected in fee figuresEUR 5,000 to EUR 40,000
Smart-Contract Audits & Launch Tech (quoted in USD)6 to 16 weeksSimple ERC-20 / vesting: USD 8k to 20k; moderate DeFi (lending, AMM): USD 50k to 150k; complex multi-chain or new L1: USD 150k to 600k; competitive audit + bug bounty add 20% to 40%USD 8,000 to USD 600,000+, with competitive audit and bug-bounty scope added separately
Total: Year 11 to 18 monthsOngoing compliance from year 2: EUR 500k to 1.2m annual for Class 3 MiCA CASP; USD 150k to 400k annual for offshore VASP registrationScope-dependent: EUR-denominated formation, licensing and banking costs plus USD-denominated smart-contract audit work; no single converted total

As of , the figures above are Jagelski & Partners’ planning estimates (actual fees are quoted per case) and include professional fees, government fees, audit fees, and own funds held for regulatory safeguards where applicable. They do not include founder salaries, marketing spend, the protocol token-distribution event, or post-launch security incident response. Currency convention: EUR for EU phases; USD for non-EU phases; AED where VARA-specific.

Frequently Asked Questions

Costs & Timeline

There is no single currency-converted Year-1 total: the scope combines EUR-denominated formation, licensing and banking costs with USD 8,000 to USD 600,000 or more for smart-contract audit work.

Ongoing compliance from year 2 is EUR 500,000 to EUR 1.2 million annually for a regulated CASP, or USD 150,000 to USD 400,000 for an offshore VASP registration. The cost of getting the structure wrong (typically discovered 9 to 12 months into the build) is restructuring fees of EUR 40,000 to EUR 100,000 plus 2 to 4 months delay.

Operational readiness in 1 to 9 months for an offshore wrapper or registration build (2 to 4 weeks for a Panama foundation, about 4 to 8 months for a Cayman registration, 4 to 9 months for Saint Kitts and Nevis), and 8 to 18 months for an EU MiCA CASP build (Cyprus, Czech Republic).

Smart-contract audits run in parallel with the regulatory file. The critical-path item is fiat banking onboarding, which typically takes 2 to 6 months and runs in parallel with both formation and audit work. Jagelski & Partners’ partner network pre-qualifies banking before the licensing file is filed, because authorities reviewing the application commonly ask for evidence of the banking arrangements.

Licensing

It depends on the architecture and the marketing perimeter. A fully decentralised protocol with no identifiable operator, no admin keys, no fee accrual to a controlled treasury, and no active EU marketing may rely on Recital 22 of Markets in Crypto-Assets Regulation and operate without a licence.

Most protocols of meaningful scale do not satisfy that standard. Where a front-end is operated, a treasury is controlled by a foundation, or fees accrue to a named party, a CASP authorisation is typically required (prudential safeguards of at least €50,000 to €150,000 depending on activity class, or one quarter of the fixed overheads of the preceding year if higher). Outside the EU, the equivalent is a VARA licence (UAE), a Cayman VASP registration or Phase 2 licence, or a Saint Kitts and Nevis VASP registration. The first deliverable on any DeFi or Web3 build is a written perimeter analysis, not a smart contract.

MiCA applies unless the service is provided “in a fully decentralised manner without any intermediary” (Recital 22). The Joint EBA-ESMA Report under MiCA Article 142 notes that MiCA does not specify how to interpret references to “fully decentralised”, so the position turns on the facts, and the usual indicators of residual centralisation are: admin or upgrade keys, fee accrual to a controlled treasury, an identifiable front-end operator, active EU marketing, governance-token concentration, treasury management by an identifiable foundation, and bridge or oracle dependencies.

Partial decentralisation is not a safe harbour. A protocol relying on Recital 22 should document the position contemporaneously and update it as the protocol evolves.

A DAO needs a CASP authorisation when the protocol or its front-end provides one of the ten CASP activities listed in Article 3(1)(16) of MiCA. The most common triggers are operation of a trading platform (where the front-end matches third-party orders), exchange of crypto-assets for funds or for other crypto-assets (where the operator facilitates swaps), custody of crypto-assets (where the front-end controls smart-contract vaults), and transfer services (for bridge front-ends).

A DAO that operates a front-end with admin keys, a fee mechanism, and active EU marketing will typically need a CASP authorisation regardless of whether the smart contract itself is non-custodial. A DAO that issues only a governance token and operates no front-end may avoid CASP scope, but its token may still fall under MiCA Title II where it is offered to the public or admitted to trading.

Domicile & Banking

Jurisdictions considered for DeFi and Web3 builds include Cayman Islands (Foundation Company plus optional VASP), UAE (VARA licence plus ADGM DLT Foundation wrapper), Panama (Private Interest Foundation), Saint Kitts and Nevis (VASP registration), Cyprus (MiCA CASP), and Czech Republic (MiCA CASP).

Cayman is a widely used DAO wrapper jurisdiction for protocols with institutional integrations; the UAE is the strongest fit where MENA market access and onshore presence matter; Panama is appropriate for treasury-only structures; Saint Kitts and Nevis suits token-issuer SPV and treasury layers sitting above a licensed operating entity; Cyprus and Czech Republic are the routes for EU passporting. For other structures, Jagelski & Partners also covers Saint Lucia, Switzerland, the British Virgin Islands and the Marshall Islands: the Saint Lucia Virtual Asset Business Act licence is set out in the Licensing section on this page, and a BVI Restricted Purposes Company for token-issuance separation and a Marshall Islands DAO LLC are established wrappers, matched to the build case by case. Wyoming and Liechtenstein sit outside the firm’s formation and licensing perimeter; where they appear on this page, it is as banking or market context, not as a domicile we place.

There is no single best jurisdiction; the choice depends on the protocol’s distribution profile, treasury size, marketing perimeter, and institutional integrations. For a protocol with a treasury above USD 50 million and institutional integrations, Cayman Foundation Company plus an EU operating entity (Cyprus or Czech Republic CASP) is the default.

For a UAE-domiciled team targeting MENA flow, ADGM DLT Foundation plus a VARA-licensed operating entity is the working architecture. For a small protocol with treasury-only operations, Panama Foundation alone may be sufficient. Jagelski & Partners scopes the jurisdictional fit from the written brief, before any incorporation is filed.

Fiat banking for a DeFi or Web3 project is a multi-institution exercise, not a single-bank application. The practical architecture combines an EU-licensed Electronic Money Institution for operational euro flows, a DLT-friendly bank in a digital-asset-aware jurisdiction for token-treasury custody, and where applicable a regulated US trust company for stablecoin and bitcoin holdings.

Primary clearing banks reject DeFi-adjacent counterparties at the first application in most cases; the path through is pre-qualification across multiple institutions before any formal application is filed. Banking is pre-qualified across the partner network of 90+ institutions before the regulatory file lands, because authorities reviewing the application commonly ask for evidence of the banking arrangements.

Start Your DeFi or Web3 Assessment

Request a free assessment. Jagelski & Partners scopes the legal wrapper, regulatory perimeter, fiat banking arrangement, and compliance stack for DeFi and Web3 projects worldwide, with operational readiness in 1 to 18 months depending on the route.

Initial assessments are free · Response within one business day

References

Show all references
  1. Stuarts Humphries, Cayman Structures for Crypto, Web3 and Blockchain Entities, stuartslaw.com, accessed .
  2. European Banking Authority and European Securities and Markets Authority, Joint Report: Recent developments in crypto-assets (Article 142 of MiCAR), ESMA75-453128700-1391 / EBA/Rep/2025/01, , paragraphs 2, 8, 78-79 and 91 (footnote 74), eba.europa.eu, accessed .
  3. European Banking Authority, Travel Rule Guidelines (EBA/GL/2024/11), eba.europa.eu, .
  4. Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman, DORA Now Fully in Effect, pillsburylaw.com, accessed .
  5. Bolder Group, Why a Cayman Foundation is the Premier Legal Wrapper for Your DAO, boldergroup.com, accessed .
  6. Virtual Assets Regulatory Authority (VARA), Virtual Assets and Related Activities Regulations 2023, Schedule 2: Supervision and Authorisation Fees, rulebooks.vara.ae, accessed .
  7. Abu Dhabi Global Market, DLT Foundations Regime Announcement, adgm.com, .
  8. Virtual Assets Regulatory Authority (VARA), VARA Steps Up Enforcement to Safeguard Dubai’s Virtual Asset Market: 19 Unlicensed Firms Penalised and Public Warning Issued, , vara.ae, accessed .
  9. Government of Panama, Law 25 of 12 June 1995 on Private Interest Foundations, infojuridica.procuraduria-admon.gob.pa, accessed .
  10. Financial Action Task Force, Jurisdictions under Increased Monitoring: October 2023, fatf-gafi.org, .
  11. Saint Christopher and Nevis Law Commission, Virtual Asset (Amendment) Act, No. 9 of 2024, fsrc.kn, gazetted .
  12. ComplyFactor, CySEC CASP Capital Requirements, complyfactor.com, accessed .
  13. Dirección General de Ingresos, Preguntas frecuentes: Tasa Única (US$300 for companies and US$400 for foundations; due 15 July or 15 January), dgi.mef.gob.pa, accessed .
  14. European Securities and Markets Authority, MiCA: Markets in Crypto-Assets Regulation, esma.europa.eu, accessed .
  15. XReg Consulting, Navigating Cayman’s VASP Act Amendments, xreg.consulting, accessed .
  16. 7BlockLabs, 2026 Smart Contract Audit Costs: What to Expect and Trail of Bits Benchmark Insights (published 22 December 2025, updated 21 January 2026; estimates compiled from public rate cards and DAO proposals, not a market-wide survey), 7blocklabs.com, accessed .
  17. Immunefi, Immunefi Reports Over $100 Million Paid to Ethical Hackers in 3 Years (company press release, 20 June 2024), globenewswire.com, accessed .
  18. Financial Services Regulatory Authority (Saint Lucia), General Circular: Notice on VASPs, fsrastlucia.org, .
  19. Council of the European Union, Council Directive (EU) 2023/2226 of 17 October 2023 amending Directive 2011/16/EU on administrative cooperation in the field of taxation (DAC8), OJ L of , application date , eur-lex.europa.eu, accessed .
  20. Czech National Bank, MiCA: CNB grants crypto licences to 11 entities (press release, 1 July 2026), cnb.cz, accessed .
  21. Financial Services Regulatory Authority (Saint Lucia), Warning Notice (16 June 2026), fsrastlucia.org, accessed .
  22. Cayman Islands Monetary Authority, Virtual Asset (Service Providers) (Amendment) Regulations 2025 (SL 19 of 2025), Schedule 2 (registration and licence fees), cima.ky, accessed .
  23. Financial Services Regulatory Commission (FSRC), Virtual Asset (Amendment) Act, No. 8 of 2026 (assented , published 19 June 2026, Extra-Ordinary Gazette No. 34 of 2026; s.5 inserting the mandatory independent AML/CFT/CPF audit at s.9(11)), fsrc.kn, accessed .
  24. Financial Services Regulatory Commission (FSRC), Virtual Asset Business Regulations, SR&O No. 13 of 2026 (published 22 June 2026, Extra-Ordinary Gazette No. 35 of 2026; reg. 4(1) 90-day decision clock, reg. 6 capital adequacy, and the repeal of SRO 25 of 2022), fsrc.kn, accessed .
  25. European Commission, Directorate-General for Taxation and Customs Union, EU updates list of non-cooperative tax jurisdictions, highlighting commitment to global tax good governance standards (Annex I after the 17 February 2026 update: 10 jurisdictions, including Panama), , taxation-customs.ec.europa.eu, accessed .
  26. European Union, Regulation (EU) 2023/1114 (MiCA), Article 67(1) and (4) and Annex IV (prudential safeguards: the higher of the Annex IV class minimum and one quarter of the preceding year’s fixed overheads, held as own funds, an insurance policy or a comparable guarantee, or a combination), eur-lex.europa.eu, accessed .