Crypto Licensing Last updated:

Crypto Regulation and Licence Status in Comoros

Comoros has no recognised VASP licensing route. In a warning signed by its Governor on , the Banque Centrale des Comores (BCC) said the Anjouan Offshore Finance Authority (AOFA) is not recognised in the Union and has no legal authorisation to issue financial or banking licences, and that no virtual-asset or VASP licence has been issued in the Union.

Private AOFA agents continue to market crypto certificates and quote their own processing times and fees. Those commercial documents are not regulator permission, carry no Union-level authorisation, and should not be presented as a crypto licence.

Comoros Crypto Regulation: Quick Overview
Licence TypeNo recognised VASP licence. AOFA markets a private crypto certificate without Union-level legal authorisation
RegulatorBanque Centrale des Comores (BCC) for Union-level banking and financial institutions; no recognised VASP licensing authority
Legal FrameworkBanking Law No. 13-003/AU of 12 June 2013; BCC communiqué of (re-published ) and BCC warning of
TimelineNo recognised authorisation timeline. Private agents quote 4–8 weeks for certificate processing, which is not regulator permission
Year 1 costNo verified statutory cost is totalled: no official fee schedule verifies the agent-quoted AOFA certificate and IBC charges, which are excluded from the total. Typical build USD 19,000 to USD 49,500, quoted per case (see Costs and Pricing)
Min. CapitalNo recognised statutory VASP capital framework
Local PresenceRegistered office and registered agent in Anjouan. No local director, staff, or premises required
Corporate Tax35% on profits from enterprises and operations carried on in Comoros; no verified 0% Anjouan IBC exemption (see Taxation)
FATF StatusClear. Comoros is on neither FATF list after the June 2026 plenary. GIABA Mutual Evaluation May 2024 records medium-high ML risk
EU PassportingNone. No MiCA equivalence or passport
Use in PlanningRisk assessment and comparison with recognised authorisation routes, not evidence of regulated status

What Comoros Offers and What It Does Not

Private AOFA agents market Anjouan certificates to forex/CFD brokers, offshore exchanges, OTC desks, token issuers, and iGaming operators. The BCC does not recognise AOFA as a lawful financial licensing authority, so the certificate is not a VASP authorisation and cannot establish regulated status.

In short: treat an AOFA certificate as a private commercial document, not a licence. Operators that need regulated status, banking acceptance, or market access should use a recognised jurisdiction; the comparison below sets out the alternatives.

Speed, Cost, and Scope

AOFA materials claim broad scope and private agents quote a typical Year-1 build of USD 19,000 to USD 49,500. They also quote 4–8 weeks for certificate processing. These are commercial claims and service estimates, not statutory costs, regulatory requirements, or an authorisation clock.

The Honest Qualifier

The controlling qualifier is stronger than limited recognition. The BCC says AOFA has no legal authorisation and describes approvals issued through these structures as illegal. The source and operative Union-level position are set out under Regulatory Framework below.

Who It Suits

This page remains useful for operators assessing an existing AOFA certificate or comparing offshore marketing claims. It does not recommend AOFA as a licensing route. A new applicant seeking regulated status should compare jurisdictions with an active statutory VASP or CASP authorisation process.

Regulatory Framework

AOFA materials cite island-level Acts of 2005 and hold out certificates for brokerage, crypto, banking, insurance, and gaming activity through a private agent network. Union law and the BCC's published enforcement position point the other way: AOFA has no recognised authority to issue Union financial permissions. Its own materials describe the AOFA as a statutory body established in 2001, operating under the Offshore Finance Authority Act 003 of 2005 with implementing rules in Government Notices 004, 005, and 008 of 2005. The crypto activities certificate cites Government Notice No. 005 of 2005 as its statutory hook, with scope variations under Notice No. 004. The Anjouan IBC sits under the International Business Companies Act 2005.[4][5][6]

Definition: AOFA Anjouan Certificate

The document marketed as an International Brokerage and Clearing House Licence, with a crypto activities certificate, is issued through AOFA's private infrastructure. It claims scope over crypto, forex/CFD, and securities-brokerage activity, but it is not regulator permission under Union law and confers no recognised market-access rights.

The Union-Level Position

Banking Law No. 13-003/AU of 12 June 2013, Articles 5, 6 and 18, reserves banking operations and connected activities to institutions licensed by the BCC and entered on its register; the BCC cites Articles 18, 22, 74 and 77 for the criminal penalties that apply to unlicensed banking, including offshore activity.[1][24] In its communiqué of , re-published by the Comoros Ministry of Finance on , the BCC names AOFA, Anjouan Corporate Services, MISA, and related bodies as fictitious structures claiming to issue banking and financial licences. It states that approvals and financial products offered through them are illegal.[2] In a warning signed by its Governor on , the BCC adds that these bodies are not recognised in the Union and cannot act on behalf of the Union or any of its islands, and that no virtual-asset or VASP licence has been issued in the Union.[24]

Practically, an AOFA certificate runs only as far as private counterparties accept it. It should not be described as a private regulatory instrument because no recognised regulator stands behind it. Federal banks and tier-1 international institutions may reject AOFA-credentialed structures on legal-status and enhanced-due-diligence grounds.

Private Operational Infrastructure

AOFA's operational infrastructure is privately run. Anjouan Corporate Services Ltd handles IBC and certificate files, while Anjouan Licensing Services Inc. markets a separate gaming certificate. The AOFA-branded register is not a recognised government licensing register. Multiple clone sites exist, adding a separate source-authenticity risk.

Regulatory Transition: AOFA to Federal Comoros Regime (PAIA Finance)

In short: The Ministry of Finance said on 10 December 2025 that it is working with PAIA Finance on a framework for official licences. No law, decree or register for such licences had been published by the Ministry or the BCC when checked on 27 September 2026, and the end-state, timeline, and treatment of existing AOFA certificates are not publicly fixed.

The Ministry of Finance Position

In an information note dated , which also reports fraudulent issuance of forex and crypto licences, the Comoros Ministry of Finance set out the federal position (translated from French): "the Ministry is working to establish a regulatory framework for the issuance of official licenses, in collaboration with an international company specializing in the field, PAIA FINANCE. In the meantime, any promotion or use of unofficial licenses is strictly prohibited."[3]

PAIA Finance describes itself on its own website as the exclusive distributor of the Ministry of Finance’s crypto and forex licences; that is the company’s own claim, and it cites no law, decree or register.[26] Separately, operators have already felt the MetaQuotes decision to stop issuing new MT4 and MT5 server licences for Comoros-registered brokers. Per trade-press reporting at the time, MetaQuotes informed local brokers privately that they would need authorisation from a different jurisdiction to access MetaTrader platforms.[21]

Three Open Questions

In practice, the transition reduces to three open questions:

  1. Replacement framework timing. No published target date, and no draft had been published on the Ministry of Finance or BCC websites when checked on 27 September 2026.
  2. Grandfathering. No published commitment says existing AOFA-issued certificates will be recognised under a new regime. Operators should not assume continuity.
  3. Scope. Whether the new federal framework will cover crypto specifically, or only forex/brokerage, is not disclosed.

Recommended Operational Posture

Operationally, do not treat an AOFA certificate as interim permission or as a route that can later be converted into a recognised licence. Existing holders should map their activities to a jurisdiction with an active statutory regime and plan a separate application there before making further investments that depend on regulated status.

Private Certificate Types and Claimed Activities

Six licence instruments are held out by the AOFA. Two are relevant to crypto operators: the International Brokerage and Clearing House Licence, with an attached crypto activities certificate, and the International Banking Licence Class B with crypto services. A separate International Online Gaming Licence is marketed through ALSI, but that private instrument does not establish recognised gambling permission.

In short: These are the activities AOFA materials claim, not activities authorised by a recognised VASP regulator. The documents do not use the terms VASP or CASP and pre-date modern token taxonomy.
InstrumentActivities held outStatutory hook cited by AOFA
International Brokerage and Clearing House Licence, with crypto activities certificateStockbroking, securities brokerage, financial advisory, asset and fund management, custody, transaction clearing, payment processing, FX/currency trading, securities issuance, and underwriting, plus all crypto activities (deposit-taking, lending, exchange, custody, payment facilitation, asset-holding, ICO/ITO/STO, CFDs on digital assets, mining, storage)OFA Act 003 of 2005; IBC Act 2005; Government Notices 004 and 005 of 2005
International Banking Licence (Class B) with optional crypto servicesFull unrestricted offshore banking; fund administration; custodial services; trusteeship; portfolio management; treasury operationsInternational Banks Act 2005
International Online Gaming LicenceCasino, sports betting, poker, lottery, eSports, and crypto gaming under a single B2C licence. Separate B2B Recognition Certificate for vendorsComputer Gaming Licensing Act 007 of 2005; administered by ALSI
International Insurance / Reinsurance LicenceInsurance and reinsurance to non-resident clientsInternational Insurance Act 2005
International Financial Licence (para-banking / EMI)Currency exchange, asset management, advisory. Used as a marketing wrapper rather than a substantive instrumentNone distinct; cites OFA Act 003 of 2005

What the Crypto Certificate Says

Neither VASP nor CASP appears in the native statute. According to the AOFA crypto certificate template, the licensee is "authorized to conduct all type of CRYPTO activities in accordance with the Government Notice No. 005 of 2005", with sub-activities varying under Notice No. 004. Stablecoin issuance, DeFi protocols, and unhosted-wallet services are not addressed in any AOFA document.

The Counterparty-Mapping Problem

Unlike the BVI VASP Act 2022 or the Cayman VASP regime, the AOFA certificate is generic and pre-dates the FATF's definitional update on virtual assets. Counterparty due-diligence forms have no recognised authorisation to map to, and tier-1 stablecoin issuers do not accept the certificate as evidence of regulated status.

Private Certificate File Requirements

AOFA materials impose private certificate conditions rather than recognised statutory VASP requirements. They call for a registered office and agent, personal due diligence, an annual police-clearance refresh, and professional indemnity insurance. There is no recognised regulator fit-and-proper review, prudential capital test, or supervisory assessment.

Corporate Structure

  • Entity type: Anjouan IBC under IBC Act 2005, or in some cases a foreign IBC.
  • Minimum capital: none.
  • Minimum directors: 1, individual or corporate. No residency requirement.
  • Minimum shareholders: 1, individual or corporate.
  • Public UBO disclosure: none.
  • Foreign ownership: unrestricted.

Fit-and-Proper Review

Each UBO, director, manager, signatory, and shareholder submits a certified passport copy (issued within 90 days), proof of address, CV, bank reference letter, police clearance certificate, source-of-funds declaration, personal information form, and UBO Declaration Form.

One item operators often miss until renewal is the annual police-clearance refresh. Certificate-template wording is explicit: "the persons conducting the business of the company must provide a certificate from the local police authority where the company's principal place of business is located", refreshed annually.

RequirementStandard
Entity typeAnjouan IBC under the IBC Act 2005, or in some cases a foreign IBC
Min. capitalNone
Min. directorsOne; individual or corporate; no residency requirement
Min. shareholdersOne; individual or corporate
Foreign ownership100% permitted; unrestricted
Public UBO registerNone
Registered office in AnjouanRequired
Registered agent in AnjouanRequired (via the agent network in practice)
Local director / staff / premisesNot required
Local auditNot required
Professional indemnity insurancePrivate AOFA certificate condition, sized to activity; not a recognised statutory VASP requirement
Internal audit functionPrivate AOFA certificate condition; report retained internally
Annual police-clearance refreshPrivate AOFA certificate condition for every person conducting business

Local Presence

  • Registered office in Anjouan: required.
  • Registered agent in Anjouan: required (in practice via the registered-agent network).
  • Local director: not required.
  • Local staff: not required.
  • Local audit: not required.

Insurance and Risk Management

  • Professional indemnity insurance: required on the International Brokerage and Clearing House Licence, sized to the activity.
  • Internal audit function: required, but the report is not filed externally.

There is no recognised prudential review, fit-and-proper decision, or on-site inspection. Private documentary processing cannot substitute for regulator assessment.

Private Certificate Process

No regulator application process exists. Private agents describe six commercial work stages: IBC formation, file assembly, AOFA document processing, follow-up documents, certificate issuance, and banking work. Their 4–8 week estimate is not an authorisation clock.

The sequence runs in the following stages.

Stage 1 5–7 working days

Form the Anjouan IBC

Incorporation runs through the registered agent. A clean filing takes 5 to 7 working days. Documents required are limited: passport copies, proof of address, the chosen company name (subject to availability check), and registered-office election. For the full formation picture, including the real all-in cost and document legalisation, see the Anjouan company formation guide.

Stage 2 2–4 weeks

Assemble the Application File

Compile the corporate documents (M&A, board resolution, organisational chart), the personal due-diligence pack for each UBO and director, the business plan, 3-year financial projections, a technical description of the crypto platform, website terms and conditions, and the AML/CFT policy manual. Authentication via apostille and certified English or French translation where required.

Stage 3 4–8 weeks

Private AOFA Document Processing

The file is submitted through a private agent. The quoted 4 to 8 weeks covers document processing, with no recognised fit-and-proper decision, on-site inspection, or business-plan defence.

Stage 4 1–2 weeks

Further Documents

The agent may request clarifications on the AML manual, business-plan assumptions, or UBO source-of-funds evidence. This is not a regulator request-for-information cycle.

Stage 5 1–3 days

Private Certificate Issuance

AOFA materials describe a one-year certificate and an annual payment. Issuance does not create recognised VASP permission.

Stage 6 8–16 weeks

Banking and Counterparty Review

Banking and payment onboarding is separate from private certificate issuance and may take 8 to 16 weeks or end in refusal. An AOFA certificate does not establish regulated status for this review.

Documents Requested by Private Agents

The private certificate file includes a corporate pack, personal due diligence for each UBO and director, a business plan, financial projections, a platform description, and an AML/CFT policy manual. These documents do not enter a recognised regulator application. Banks and payment firms conduct their own review.

Corporate Pack

  • Certificate of incorporation
  • Memorandum and Articles
  • Board resolution authorising the application
  • Signed and dated organisational chart identifying directors, shareholders, UBOs
  • Power of attorney to the registered agent

Personal Pack (each UBO, director, manager, signatory, shareholder)

  • Certified passport copy, certified within 90 days
  • Proof of address (utility bill or bank statement under 3 months old)
  • Curriculum vitae
  • Bank reference letter
  • Police clearance certificate
  • Source-of-funds declaration
  • Personal information form
  • UBO Declaration Form

Business Pack

  • Comprehensive business plan: operations, target markets, revenue model, marketing strategy
  • 3-year financial projections
  • Technical description of the crypto platform
  • Website terms and conditions
  • AML/CFT policy manual

Compliance Policy Stack

AOFA materials request an AML/CFT manual. The wider stack below is driven by banking and payments counterparties, not by a recognised VASP supervisor:

PolicyAOFA-required?Counterparty-required?
AML/CFT manualYesYes
Enterprise-wide ML/TF risk assessmentNot specifiedYes
Sanctions screening proceduresNot specifiedYes
KYC/CDD proceduresYes (component of AML manual)Yes
Travel Rule implementationNot requiredCounterparty-driven
Transaction monitoring frameworkNot specifiedYes
SAR/STR proceduresYes (under federal AML law)Yes
Business continuity / disaster recoveryNot specifiedYes
Cybersecurity policyNot specifiedYes
Data protection / privacy policyNot specifiedYes
Complaints handlingNot specifiedYes
Conflicts of interestNot specifiedYes

Authentication: apostille on foreign personal documents and certified English or French translations on non-English source material.

Costs and Pricing

This page totals no verified statutory cost for an Anjouan crypto certificate. The Banque Centrale des Comores names the Anjouan Offshore Finance Authority among bodies holding no legal authorisation, and no official fee schedule verifies what the AOFA charges for a crypto certificate, so that charge is not presented as a state fee.[1][2]

Agent quotations for that single charge run from EUR 5,000 to EUR 23,000. Every figure a founder is quoted is therefore commercial, agent-quoted and indicative, and the AOFA and IBC charges are kept out of the build totals below.

Cost honesty: no official Anjouan fee schedule was located to verify these figures and no official registry was available to cross-check them, so none of the figures below is verified as a state charge. The build band is an indicative estimate that varies by independent specialist, scope and client profile. Any operator budgeting against a single Anjouan number should confirm it with a current agent quote first.

What the Anjouan Authority Charges

ItemAmount charged (USD, agent-quoted)
AOFA crypto certificate fee, Year 1 (no published schedule; agent quotations vary widely)5,500 to 25,000
AOFA crypto certificate renewal (annual, agent-quoted)3,500 to 15,000
Anjouan IBC authority charge (annual; agent-reported, not verified against an official schedule)~300
Statutory cost, Year 1None that can be verified from an official fee schedule; the agent-quoted charges above are not added into a statutory total
Statutory cost, Year 2 onwardsNone that can be verified from an official fee schedule, for the same reason

Elsewhere on this site the figure under a cost table is the statutory cost of the licence: what the regulator, the government and the law require, from a schedule a reader can check. No such figure is given for Anjouan. The amounts above are agent-quoted charges an operator may be asked to pay, but no official fee schedule verifies them, so they are not presented as state charges or added into a statutory total.[2]

Typical Build Cost, Year 1 (quoted per case)

Build itemYear 1 (USD)
Registered office and registered agent (via the registered-agent network in practice)1,500 to 2,500
Professional and advisory fees (end-to-end application work; varies by complexity)8,000 to 20,000
Compliance documentation pack (AML manual, policies, procedures)3,000 to 8,000
Banking and payments setup, payment-agent-company structure (see Banking)5,000 to 15,000
Professional indemnity insurance (sized to activity)1,500 to 4,000
Typical build, Year 1 (quoted per case)19,000 to 49,500

Typical Build Cost, Year 2 Onwards (quoted per case)

Build itemAnnual (USD)
Registered office and registered agent (annual)1,500 to 2,500
Compliance documentation revision cycles (annual)500 to 2,000
Banking and payments structure maintenance (annual)5,000 to 15,000
Professional indemnity insurance (annual)1,500 to 4,000
Typical build, annual ongoing from Year 2 (quoted per case)8,500 to 23,500

The AOFA and IBC charges are agent-quoted, no official fee schedule verifies them, and they are not added into the build totals above. None of the figures on this page is a verified statutory figure, and every line should be re-quoted before it becomes a budget.

Why a Cheaper Certificate Is Not Licensing Permission

A lower private-certificate quote does not make the proposed activity lawful. Compare the cost of obtaining recognised permission in an operative regime with the product and customer markets the business needs to serve. Agent support, compliance documents, or a shorter private processing estimate cannot replace that permission.

How to Read the Private-Cost Estimates

The private-cost estimates above describe commercial work around a certificate; they are not a budget for recognised crypto authorisation. Publication of an AOFA price list would not cure its lack of legal authority. Any future federal route must be assessed against its operative law, authorised issuer, and application process before it can support a licensing budget.

Timeline

There is no recognised Comoros VASP authorisation timeline. Private agents quote 4 to 8 weeks to process and issue an AOFA certificate. Banking and payments onboarding may take 8 to 16 weeks or end in refusal; it runs in parallel from file assembly, and neither period measures regulator approval.

StageWorking daysNotes
1. IBC incorporation5 to 7Clean filing through registered agent.
2. Application file assembly10 to 20Driven by speed of UBO/director document collection. Apostille and translation add days.
3. Private AOFA processing20 to 40Agent estimate from a complete file; not regulator review.
4. Further-document response5 to 10Where requested by the private agent.
5. Certificate issuance1 to 3Private administrative step; no recognised permission.
6. Banking and payments setup40 to 80Runs in parallel from Stage 2 onwards. The critical-path step.

Banking remains a separate and uncertain workstream. Completing the private certificate stages does not establish regulated status or guarantee that a bank, payment institution, exchange, or other counterparty will onboard the entity.

The federal-transition trajectory is a second variable. Operators should re-check the Union-level position before any decision and should not treat continuing private issuance as evidence that the certificate has become legally recognised.

Taxation

The official Union Code général des impôts 2023 applies a 35% corporate income tax to profits from enterprises and operations carried on in Comoros under Articles 8 and 33. Article 35 sets a minimum tax of 1.5% of turnover; Article 36 instead sets a 3% minimum on turnover realised in Comoros for businesses whose accounts are kept at their head office outside Comoros. We found no distinct 0% Anjouan IBC exemption in that official code.[23]

Claims of exemptions from capital gains tax, withholding tax, VAT, or stamp duty for an international IBC were not established by that source and should not be relied on without current Comorian tax advice.

Comoros has not signed the CRS Multilateral Competent Authority Agreement and is not on the OECD Global Forum list of jurisdictions committed to the CARF (last update ).[16] Economic substance legislation is absent.

TaxPosition
Corporate income tax (CIT)35% under the Union tax code; territorial/source rule
Minimum tax1.5% of turnover; 3% of Comoros turnover where accounts are kept at a head office outside Comoros (Articles 35–36)
Capital gains taxAnjouan IBC treatment not verified in the official Union tax code
VAT / GST on financial and crypto servicesAnjouan IBC exemption not verified in the official Union tax code
Withholding tax on dividends, interest, royaltiesAnjouan IBC exemption not verified in the official Union tax code
Stamp dutyAnjouan IBC exemption not verified in the official Union tax code
Payroll taxNot applicable where no staff are employed in Comoros
CRS / OECD AEOINot signed. Comoros is non-participating
CARFNot on the OECD commitments list (2027 to 2029 exchanges; 14 September 2026)
DAC8Not ruled out by Comoros incorporation alone: it can reach an operator that is tax-resident in, managed from, or has a regular place of business or a branch in an EU member state, subject to the directive’s exemptions[27]
Pillar Two (GloBE)Sub-threshold for substantially all operators
Economic substanceNo legislation in place

The marketed 0% tax headline is not supported by the official Union tax code. Non-participation in CRS and the absence of economic-substance legislation remain sources of counterparty friction rather than tax concessions. Many banking counterparties treat non-participation in CRS as a risk factor in their due diligence; OECD Global Forum reporting and home-country CFC regimes capture the IBC structure on a different vector regardless of Comoros's own position.[16]

Home-Country Tax Considerations

For most operators in this market, the tax planning that matters is not the Anjouan side. It is the home-jurisdiction analysis: whether the IBC has substance somewhere recognisable, whether the home-country CFC rules attribute IBC profits to the parent, and whether the structure survives a tax-authority review under the OECD's BEPS Action 5 substance standards. Jagelski & Partners does not advise on home-jurisdiction tax; the structuring work proceeds with the CFC and substance questions front of mind.

Private Certificate Conditions and Post-Registration

AOFA materials set private ongoing conditions: annual police-clearance refreshes, annual payment, notice or approval of specified changes, and insurance maintenance. These conditions govern the private certificate and should not be described as supervision by a recognised VASP authority.

The certificate describes a one-year term and renewal payment. Its own cancellation wording applies if the company engages in prohibited activities, conducts business in Anjouan beyond the registered office, or misses the payment date. Those private terms do not create statutory VASP permission.

Where cancellation occurs, "officers conducting business after cancellation are personally, jointly, and severally liable for all actions, omissions, irregularities, or violations committed after the cancellation."

Ongoing Obligations Checklist

  • Annual renewal payment, on or before the due date stated on the certificate.
  • Annual police-clearance refresh on every person conducting business in the company.
  • Pre-approval of changes to directors, shareholders, share capital, share-transfer ownership of 10% or more, and registered office.
  • Maintenance of professional indemnity insurance throughout the private certificate period.
  • Internal audit function maintained, with reports retained but not externally filed.
  • Compliance with the AML/CFT manual filed at application, including SAR/STR reporting to the federal FIU (Service de Renseignement Financier) under Law No. 25-004/AU of 30 June 2025.[8][10]
  • Notification of material changes to the platform, target markets, or activity scope.

AOFA does not conduct recognised VASP supervision. Counterparty banks and PSPs perform their own monitoring, while the annual police-clearance, payment, and insurance cycle governs only the private certificate.

Anjouan has no jurisdiction-specific cybersecurity or operational-resilience rulebook; counterparty-driven ICT requirements are listed in the compliance policy stack under Documents.

Banking

An AOFA certificate does not establish regulated status for banking. Local Comorian banks and tier-1 international banks may reject AOFA-credentialed companies. Some structures add a payment-agent company in another jurisdiction, but that does not cure the missing VASP permission and creates its own legal, tax, substance, and counterparty risks.

In short: a bank account held through another company is not a substitute for regulatory authorisation. The activity, customer-contract, funds-flow, and licensing perimeter must be tested independently in every jurisdiction involved.
PathwayStatus as of May 2026
Comorian domestic banksEffectively closed. The BCC actively warns banks against onboarding AOFA-credentialed companies.
Tier-1 EU, UK, US banksEffectively closed. Major institutions typically apply enhanced due diligence to Anjouan IBCs.
Tier-1 crypto-friendly banks in Western EuropeEffectively closed for direct Anjouan onboarding.
Other offshore banks (Caribbean, CIS)Limited and volatile. Rotation cycles of 6 to 18 months are typical.
EU and UK EMIsGenerally closed for direct Anjouan onboarding.
Mid-tier and emerging-market EMIs (CIS, Caribbean, Middle East)Available but unstable. Counterparty risk is the operational issue.
Separate payment-agent companyA separate entity may hold bank or EMI accounts, but this does not confer VASP permission on the AOFA certificate holder. The activity and funds-flow perimeter requires independent legal analysis.

Payment-agent structures add USD 5,000 to USD 15,000 per year in incorporation, agent, compliance, and inter-company contracting costs. They also introduce inter-company VAT, transfer-pricing, and substance considerations that an Anjouan-only structure does not have.

A commonly marketed pattern pairs an Anjouan certificate holder with a separate payment entity and splits contracts from payment rails. That arrangement does not turn the AOFA certificate into a licence. It may instead move regulated activity, customer-funds, tax, and substance questions into the payment entity's jurisdiction.

Reputational drag from the 2008 banking scandal continues to affect Anjouan banking onboarding. If anything, the BCC's June 2022 communiqué, its 8 December 2025 warning and the Ministry of Finance note of 10 December 2025 have sharpened the pattern rather than softened it.[2][3][24] The pathway table above reflects May 2026; counterparty appetite moves quickly, so each pathway should be re-checked before a structure is built: learn about our Banking service →

For existing Anjouan structures, banking feasibility and regulatory perimeter must be tested before further implementation. For a new regulated business, the safer starting point is a recognised authorisation route with banking architecture assessed alongside it.

Jagelski & Partners Banking Partner Network
90+Institutions
€14bnPlaced via the network in 2025
Pre-qualifiedBefore submission

Banking routes are assessed against the actual regulated entity, customer contracts, funds flow, and counterparty policy. A separate payment company is never treated as a cure for missing authorisation.

Explore Banking Solutions →

FATF Status & International Standing

As of September 2026, neither FATF grey-listing nor blacklisting applies to the Union of the Comoros. Adopted in , the GIABA Mutual Evaluation Report found medium-high ML risk and pervasive supervisory deficiencies. Comoros is not on the EU's high-risk third countries list in force since . An AOFA certificate confers no market-access rights in any jurisdiction.

Status after the plenary: Comoros is FATF-clear, on neither the grey list nor the blacklist.[14] The GIABA Mutual Evaluation Report (on-site , adopted at the plenary) records medium-high ML risk and pervasive supervisory deficiencies, and rates Comoros Non-Compliant on Recommendation 15, the recommendation that governs virtual assets and virtual asset service providers – down from Partially Compliant on the predecessor Recommendation 8, with the report finding that most of R.15’s requirements are not met; GIABA’s second enhanced follow-up report, adopted in May 2026, re-rated 13 Recommendations upwards but left R.15 Non-Compliant.[25] These are the findings that drive enhanced due diligence at tier-1 counterparties regardless of the clear FATF list position.

FATF Position (after the plenary)

  • FATF blacklist: Iran, DPRK, Myanmar. Comoros not listed.
  • FATF grey list: Bosnia and Herzegovina and Iraq added at the June 2026 plenary. Comoros not listed.
  • FATF-style regional body: GIABA (the Inter-Governmental Action Group against Money Laundering in West Africa), which Comoros joined from ESAAMLG in 2017; Comoros is under GIABA enhanced follow-up, with the next report due in May 2027.[7][25]

GIABA Mutual Evaluation Report Findings

The MER (on-site ; adopted ) assesses Comoros at medium-high ML risk and at a moderately low TF threat with a high level of TF vulnerability. The report records one ML conviction and no TF convictions in the period under review. Substantive findings include limited FIU resources, insurance-sector AML supervision not designated, DNFBP supervisors largely not designated, and "no mechanism for identifying the beneficial owners of legal persons other than those that are customers of banks and certain DNFBPs." These are the deficiencies that drive enhanced due diligence at tier-1 banking counterparties regardless of Comoros's current FATF status.[7]

EU Position

Comoros is not on the EU's high-risk third countries list as of the update under Delegated Regulations (EU) 2026/46 and 2026/83.[13] Comoros is not on the EU Tax Haven List Annex I or Annex II as of the ECOFIN update.[15]

UK and US Positions

UK high-risk third countries listing follows FATF. The US has no comprehensive Comoros sanctions programme. OFAC, EU, and UK sanctions regimes apply on a destination-market basis regardless of Anjouan's own position.

EU Market Access

In short: An AOFA certificate confers zero market-access rights in the EU or EEA. Operators serving EU clients must obtain an applicable CASP authorisation, work within a lawful authorised model, or accept that the EU market is closed. Reverse solicitation is not a market-access strategy.

An AOFA certificate confers zero market-access rights in the EU or EEA. Under MiCA Article 61, a third-country firm may provide services to an EU client only at the client's own exclusive initiative. ESMA's Guidelines on reverse solicitation under MiCA (Ref. ESMA35-1872330276-2030, published , applicable from 27 April 2025) list signs that a firm is likely to be regarded as soliciting EU clients, judged on all the facts: EU-targeted advertising, influencer engagement, and a website in an EU language that is not customary in international finance are among them, and a firm that solicits EU clients cannot rely on the exemption.[11][12]

Operators with material EU customer acquisition should not plan around reverse solicitation. The realistic options are MiCA CASP authorisation in an EU member state, partnering with a MiCA-authorised CASP, or accepting that the EU market is closed. See the reverse solicitation briefing for the detail.

Commercial Characteristics and Limitations

The first entries describe private commercial characteristics only. They are not regulatory advantages and do not offset the absence of a recognised authorisation.

  • ✓ Cost. A Year-1 build of USD 19,000 to USD 49,500, quoted per case, with the agent-quoted AOFA charges left out. It overlaps the lower end of statutory routes such as Mauritius, the BVI, and the Bahamas and sits far below Cayman and Vanuatu, but it buys no recognised permission.
  • ✓ Private processing speed. Agents quote 4–8 weeks for the certificate, but there is no regulator approval.
  • ✓ No recognised VASP capital framework. The absence of a statutory floor reflects the absence of a recognised regime, not a regulatory concession.
  • ✓ Broad claimed scope. AOFA materials claim crypto, forex/CFD, securities-brokerage, and related gaming coverage; no recognised regulator grants that scope.
  • × Tax headline is not verified. The official Union code applies 35% corporate income tax on Comoros-source business profits and does not establish the marketed 0% Anjouan IBC exemption. Mitigation: model the Union rule and obtain current Comorian tax advice before relying on any island-level exemption claim.
  • ✓ Minimal substance burden. No local-director, local-staff, local-premises, or audit-filing obligation, and no public UBO register.
  • ✓ Federal AML framework exists. A Union-level AML/CFT regime exists (Law No. 25-004/AU of 30 June 2025, adopted after Law No. 12-008/AU), but an AOFA file referring to it does not create regulatory supervision.
  • × No recognised legal validity. The BCC says AOFA has no legal authorisation. Mitigation: use a jurisdiction with an active statutory route and treat any AOFA document only as a private certificate.
  • × No major-market access. No market access in the EU, UK, US, Singapore, Hong Kong, UAE, or Australia. Mitigation: Operators targeting those markets should authorise in a recognised jurisdiction; the FAQ covers the separate-application routes.
  • × Banking cannot supply missing permission. A separate payment company does not make an unlicensed activity lawful. Mitigation: establish the required authorisation first, then assess payment-provider acceptance for the proposed structure.
  • × Counterparty-withdrawal risk is live. The MetaQuotes halt is the leading case; PSP and liquidity-provider withdrawals trend in the same direction. Mitigation: Avoid vendor dependencies that assume AOFA paper retains its current standing beyond a 12 to 24 month horizon.
  • × List status can change. Comoros was on neither FATF list after the June 2026 plenary, but the GIABA MER 2024 rated all 11 Immediate Outcomes Low Effectiveness, and Comoros remains under GIABA enhanced follow-up after its May 2026 report.[7][25] Mitigation: Maintain a recognised-jurisdiction plan in parallel.
  • × Signal-level negatives. Non-participation in CRS and CARF is a negative at sophisticated counterparties; no economic-substance legislation leaves the structure vulnerable to OECD BEPS Action 5 attribution and home-country CFC rules. Mitigation: Build recognisable substance somewhere in the group and model the home-country tax stack.
  • × No recognised VASP/CASP permission. Counterparty due-diligence forms cannot map the AOFA certificate to a recognised authorisation. Mitigation: obtain a separate authorisation in an operative regime.
  • × Federal-transition risk. The Ministry of Finance framework announced with PAIA Finance is not in force, and AOFA paper may not be grandfathered. Mitigation: adopt the operational posture in the regulatory transition section.

How Comoros Compares

Anjouan is not a like-for-like licensing peer. Its private certificate can be processed more quickly and cheaply than a statutory application, but it does not provide the permission, supervision, or recognition that the other active regimes provide.

DimensionComoros (Anjouan)VanuatuMarshall IslandsSaint LuciaUAE (cross-tier)
RegulatorBCC for Union-level financial institutions; no recognised VASP licensing authorityVFSCRMI Registrar of CorporationsFSRA Saint LuciaVARA (Dubai), ADGM FSRA
Primary instrumentNo recognised VASP permission; privately issued AOFA certificateVASP Licence, Classes D to D.4, plus a separate ITO LicenceDAO LLC, standard LLC, or IBC; no VASP licensing regimeVirtual Asset Business Licence (VABA 2022)VARA full-licence categories; ADGM FSP
Year 1 all-in (USD, indicative)No verified statutory cost; build 19,000 to 49,500665,000 to 1.06m (statutory 150,000 plus build), excluding capital15,500 to 24,500 (entity, not a licence)34,000 to 59,000General VARA benchmark ≈ USD 360K–2M (AED 1.33m to 7.26m) across activities; ADGM FSRA USD 0.81m to 2.95m. Capital excluded; build quoted per case
TimelineNo authorisation timeline; private agents quote 4 to 8 weeksAbout 8 to 13 months; 11 to 19 with FDL classes firstNo VASP authorisation timelineAbout 5 to 8 months (planning estimate); no licence issued by 16 June 20266 to 12 months (VARA); 9 to 19 months (ADGM FSRA)
Minimum capitalNo recognised VASP capital frameworkVT 200,000,000 (about USD 1.7M)None mandatedNo statutory floor; FSRA expects EC$300k to 1.3m by activitySubstantial; varies
Recognition at tier-1 counterpartiesNone as regulator permissionLowLimited but stableLimitedHigh
Banking outlookNo banking structure cures missing authorisationDifficult; improvingDifficultDifficultStrong
FATF statusClear; GIABA MER 2024 medium-high ML riskClearClearClearClear
EU market accessNoneNoneNoneNoneNone directly (third-country)
Operator profile fitStatus-risk review only; not a recognised licensing routeEstablished brokerage adding cryptoToken issuer; structured productsCaribbean-region operatorInstitutional crypto; capital-intensive
[ Scope ] No verified statutory figure is given for Anjouan: no official fee schedule verifies the agent-quoted crypto certificate or IBC charges, which are excluded from the build figure. Commercial preparation and ongoing-service costs and non-statutory timelines are indicative estimates. They vary by independent specialist, scope and client profile. Jagelski & Partners charges the client nothing. No recognised statutory licensing-capital framework has been identified for Anjouan. A private certificate cannot establish that the operator is authorised or exempt from capital requirements in its customer markets.

Compare every crypto jurisdiction side by side →

Unlike Vanuatu, where the VFSC sets an unimpaired paid-up capital floor of VT 200,000,000 (about USD 1.7M) across the Class D to D.4 Virtual Asset Service Provider licences, Anjouan has no recognised statutory licensing-capital framework. Unlike Marshall Islands, where the DAO structure under the RMI Non-Profit Entities Act 2021 supports specific token-issuance use cases, the Anjouan instrument is general-purpose and pre-dates modern token taxonomy.

Unlike Saint Lucia, where a national regulator administers a statutory licensing regime (the FSRA had issued no licence under it by 16 June 2026), Anjouan operates at the island-autonomy level with the federal repudiation noted above.

For operators with the budget and timeline to consider the UAE, the comparison is not close on credibility or banking access. Regulated crypto licensing in the UAE sits in a different tier entirely. See the Dubai/UAE crypto licensing page for the full treatment.

Not sure which column is you? Ask Emma. She compares these jurisdictions in seconds, in your language.

Common Mistakes with AOFA Certificates

The primary mistake is treating a private certificate process as a regulator application. The remaining risks concern market access, banking, private certificate conditions, source authenticity, and the need for a separate application in a recognised jurisdiction.

  1. Treating the licence as "regulated" for tier-1 onboarding. Major exchanges, payment processors, and business-banking neobanks will reject KYB submissions citing an AOFA crypto certificate as the sole regulated-status evidence. Plan around this from day one.
  2. Marketing to EU retail without a MiCA Article 61 mapping. ESMA's Guidelines list signs of solicitation, such as EU-targeted advertising, influencer engagement, or a website in an EU language not customary in international finance, judged on all the facts; a firm that solicits EU clients cannot rely on the exemption.
  3. Treating private certificate conditions as permission to serve clients. The certificate explicitly prohibits in-jurisdiction business. Conducting business in Anjouan beyond the registered office triggers automatic cancellation under the certificate’s own terms (see Private Certificate Conditions).
  4. Assuming no ongoing compliance. Annual police-clearance refresh, renewal payment by due date, the change-notification regime, the internal audit, and PI insurance maintenance are all mandatory. Non-renewal triggers automatic cancellation with personal officer liability for post-cancellation activity.
  5. Buying a shelf Anjouan-licensed company without re-running KYB. Shelf-company resale spiked post-MetaQuotes . The buyer inherits the seller's compliance history with banks and counterparties, including any de-risking actions taken against the entity name.
  6. Believing the AOFA register at one URL is the only authoritative register. Multiple AOFA-branded clone sites operate. Verify which register lists the certificate before paying renewal.
  7. Confusing Anjouan with Mwali (MISA). Different islands, same federal-validity repudiation, both named in the BCC communiqué. Counterparty due-diligence will not distinguish between them.
  8. Treating later authorisation as a tier-up. A recognised licence requires a separate application. The AOFA certificate does not migrate or shorten the statutory review.

Frequently Asked Questions

Legal Validity

No recognised Comoros VASP licence is issued through AOFA. In a warning signed by its Governor on , the Banque Centrale des Comores said AOFA is not recognised in the Union and has no legal authorisation to issue financial or banking licences, and that no virtual-asset or VASP licence has been issued in the Union. An AOFA certificate may be accepted privately, but it is not regulator permission or a Union-level financial authorisation.

No. Anjouan and Mwali (also called Mohéli) are different autonomous islands of the Union of the Comoros. Both operate island-level offshore regimes (AOFA on Anjouan, MISA on Mwali). Both were named as fictitious structures in the BCC communiqué. Counterparty due-diligence will not distinguish between them for risk-assessment purposes.

Costs & Timeline

No verified statutory cost is totalled here. The Banque Centrale des Comores names the Anjouan Offshore Finance Authority among bodies holding no legal authorisation, and no official fee schedule verifies the AOFA crypto certificate fee, so it is not presented as a state charge. The build is quoted per case: USD 19,000 to USD 49,500 in Year 1 and USD 8,500 to USD 23,500 a year thereafter for the registered agent, the application work, the compliance pack, the payment-agent banking structure and insurance.

The AOFA and IBC charges are agent-quoted, no official fee schedule verifies them, and they are not added into these totals.

No recognised regulator application exists. Private AOFA agents quote 4 to 8 weeks for certificate processing, while banking may take longer. Neither period is a Comoros VASP authorisation timeline.

Banking & Scope

An AOFA certificate does not establish regulated status for bank onboarding. A separate payment-agent company may hold accounts in another jurisdiction, but that structure does not cure the absence of a recognised Comoros VASP permission and adds legal, tax, substance, and counterparty risk.

No recognised permission is granted. AOFA certificate materials claim "all crypto activities" under Government Notice No. 005 of 2005, which pre-dates modern stablecoin taxonomy. Stablecoin issuance requires a recognised route such as the separate regimes in El Salvador, the Bahamas, or the BVI.

No. AOFA marketing may reference security tokens, but no recognised securities law, prospectus regime, capital-markets supervisor, or VASP permission stands behind the certificate. A tokenised-securities or tokenised-fund programme needs a jurisdiction with an operative securities or funds regime.

MetaQuotes stopped issuing new MT4 and MT5 server licences for Comoros-registered brokers in . Existing server licences in operation at that point have continued, but new server-licence applications from Comoros entities are not being processed. Operators planning MT4/MT5 deployment should structure around an entity in a different jurisdiction for the MetaTrader relationship.

EU Market Access

Not in the conventional sense. Under MiCA Article 61, third-country firms may serve EU clients only at the client's own exclusive initiative. ESMA's Guidelines on reverse solicitation list signs of solicitation, such as EU-targeted advertising, influencer engagement, or a website in an EU language not customary in international finance, judged on all the facts; a firm that solicits EU clients cannot rely on the exemption. Operators with material EU customer acquisition should plan around MiCA CASP authorisation, a partnership with an authorised CASP, or accepting that the EU market is closed. See the full reverse solicitation guide.

Transition & Migration

There is no published commitment that existing AOFA-issued certificates will be recognised or grandfathered. Operators should not assume continuity or rely on an AOFA certificate as interim regulator permission.

There is no regulatory migration from an AOFA certificate. A business can apply separately in a recognised jurisdiction such as El Salvador, the Bahamas, Mauritius, the BVI, or the Cayman Islands. Each route has its own eligibility, timeline, cost, and supervisory review.

Weighing offshore options?

A written brief lets us compare the recognised routes, the banking architecture each needs, and the realistic timeline and cost.

Not ready to submit a brief? Ask Emma first. She answers now and can collect your written brief for a specialist introduction.

References

Show all references
  1. Banking Law No. 13-003/AU of 12 June 2013, Union of the Comoros, primary statute on banking and financial-institution regulation (Articles 5, 6, 18, 22, 74 and 77). Source: Banque Centrale des Comores, banque-comores.km, accessed .
  2. Banque Centrale des Comores, Communiqué on the illegal exercise of offshore banking activities, dated , re-published by the Comoros Ministry of Finance on , finances.gouv.km, accessed .
  3. Comoros Ministry of Finance, Note d’information suite au communiqué de la Banque Centrale des Comores (framework for official licences with PAIA Finance), . Source: Ministry of Finance, finances.gouv.km, accessed .
  4. Offshore Finance Authority Act 003 of 2005, State of Anjouan; cited at section 1 as the Anjouan Offshore Finance Authority Act 2005. Claimed instrument reproduced through the AOFA agent network; no official primary publication has been verified. This commercial copy is not proof of legal authority.
  5. Government Notices Nos. 004, 005, and 008 of 2005, State of Anjouan. Implementing rules under the OFA Act 003 of 2005; the crypto activities certificate cites Government Notice No. 005 of 2005, with scope variations under No. 004. Claimed instruments circulated through the AOFA agent network only; no official primary publication has been verified. These commercial copies are not proof of legal authority.
  6. International Business Companies Act 2005, State of Anjouan; referenced in the OFA Act 003 of 2005 definitions. Claimed instrument reproduced through the agent network; no official primary publication has been verified.
  7. GIABA, Mutual Evaluation Report of the Union of the Comoros, adopted Plenary , on-site 12 to 26 July 2023. Source: giaba.org, accessed .
  8. Law No. 25-004/AU of 30 June 2025 on AML/CFT/CPF, Union of the Comoros, adopted after Law n°12-008/AU, as analysed in GIABA’s second enhanced follow-up report (May 2026). Source: giaba.org, accessed .
  9. Law N°21-004/AU on counter-terrorism and counter-proliferation financing, Union of the Comoros.
  10. Ordonnance N°09-002/PR establishing the Service de Renseignement Financier, Union of the Comoros, 2009.
  11. ESMA, Guidelines on reverse solicitation under MiCA, Ref. ESMA35-1872330276-2030, published . Source: esma.europa.eu, accessed .
  12. Regulation (EU) 2023/1114 on markets in crypto-assets (MiCA), Articles 59 to 64. Source: EUR-Lex, accessed .
  13. Delegated Regulations (EU) 2026/46 and (EU) 2026/83 on the EU list of high-risk third countries with strategic AML/CFT framework deficiencies, effective . Source: EUR-Lex; A&O Shearman regulatory summary, accessed .
  14. FATF, Jurisdictions under Increased Monitoring – 19 June 2026 and High-Risk Jurisdictions subject to a Call for Action – 19 June 2026 (Comoros on neither list). Source: fatf-gafi.org, read through an Internet Archive capture of 14 September 2026, accessed .
  15. EU Council, list of non-cooperative jurisdictions for tax purposes (EU Tax Haven List), ECOFIN update. Source: consilium.europa.eu, accessed .
  16. OECD, CRS MCAA signatories (status 13 March 2025) and Addendum to the CRS MCAA signatories (status 26 August 2026); OECD Global Forum, Jurisdictions committed to implement the CARF (last update 14 September 2026). Comoros appears on none of them. Source: oecd.org, accessed .
  17. BCC Regulation No. 002-2018/BCC/DSBR on financial-institution governance. Source: Banque Centrale des Comores, banque-comores.km, accessed .
  18. BCC Regulation No. 003/2015/BCC/DSBR on minimum solvency ratios. Source: Banque Centrale des Comores, banque-comores.km, accessed .
  19. World Bank, Comoros country profile, latest available macro-fiscal data. Source: worldbank.org, accessed .
  20. IMF, Comoros Article IV consultation, 2025. Source: imf.org, accessed .
  21. Finance Magnates, MetaQuotes Starts to Block Comoros-Regulated Brokers, . Source: financemagnates.com, accessed .
  22. NEXT.io, academic-research report on offshore gambling jurisdictions, , citing 825 active Anjouan internet-gaming licences as of May 2025. Source: next.io, accessed .
  23. Union of the Comoros, Code général des impôts 2023, Articles 8, 33, 35 and 36: source rule, 35% corporate income tax, 1.5% turnover minimum and the 3% Comoros-turnover minimum for accounts kept at a foreign head office. Source: Ministry of Justice, justice.gouv.km, accessed .
  24. Banque Centrale des Comores, Mise en garde contre des entités délivrant et/ou opérant avec des agréments frauduleux, signed by the Governor on , banque-comores.km, accessed .
  25. GIABA, Anti-money laundering and counter-terrorist financing measures – the Comoros, Second Enhanced Follow-Up Report and Technical Compliance Re-Rating, adopted at the Plenary. Source: giaba.org, accessed .
  26. PAIA Finance, home page (the company’s own claim to be the exclusive distributor of the Ministry of Finance’s crypto and forex licences). Source: paiafinance.com, accessed .
  27. European Union, Council Directive (EU) 2023/2226 (DAC8), Annex VI, Section I, paragraphs A to H (when a Reporting Crypto-Asset Service Provider must report in a Member State, including through tax residence, management, a regular place of business or a branch there, and the exemptions where reporting is completed elsewhere), eur-lex.europa.eu, accessed .